My Yummy Local Life











{January 3, 2010}   So here’s the plan…

Over the past year, my husband and myself have embarked on a food journey which involved buying more whole foods (not pre-made/processed), finding them from local sources whenever possible, and making our food from scratch so that we know what is in it.

We now buy food in this manner:

  1. Obtain as much of our fruits, vegetables, meats, cheeses (an other items if possible) from the local farmer’s market that is closest to our home. For us this is the  North Raleigh Farmer’s Market.
  2. Get ingredients that are in season, but not at the farmer’s market, from our local grocery store.  I read the labels to find the product that had to travel the least distance to get to the store. We shop mostly at the Earth Fare- Raleigh store at Brier Creek.
  3. When I need an ingredient that is not available locally, I try to purchase a fair trade or organic option.  Most of the coffee, chocolate and sugar we buy is now available from fair trade sources, meaning that the workers who produce the product are treated fairly and earn a fair wage.  I am not the type that MUST have organic food, but I do try to buy it when possible since it is grown in a way more sustainable to the environment.
  4. I am also very fond of the barter system, and will trade food products, such as herbs, spices, eggs and the like from anyone who is willing.

So with this blog I hope to show that local food can be just as yummy, if not more so, as prepared foods that come from the store.  My goals are as follows:

  • Post at least one recipe per week made primarily or entirely from  local ingredients.  I hope to include pictures as well.
  • Educate my readers about where my food is coming from, in the hopes that you will then explore the local food options where you live.
  • Use REAL, whole foods in my recipes, not substitute foods, while making sure they are obtained from a local and/or sustainable source.  All of the meat that I use will be from Animal Welfare Approved or other Certified Humane sources, not from industrial “farms”.  If a recipe calls for cheese, it will be real cheese, not a soy or other substitute.

The recipes that I make will not be diet food, but they  will be healthy dishes made from local ingredients.  Also, I do not follow any specific special diet, but I do make many things that are vegetarian, vegan, gluten-free, dairy-free, soy-free and allergen-free.  I will try to include notes as to how dishes can be adapted for allergen related diets when possible.

I hope to inspire you to try to find local foods that you think are yummy and also to try new things. Feel free to comment and tell me what you are doing to have a Yummy Local Life where you live!

jamie says:

You two are an inspiration to all consumers – our family looks forward to following your blog! Jamie, Kat and Jager….



Love your spirit! You’re making all the right choices.

annie



Me says:

Good points, I think I will definitely subscribe! I’ll go and read some more! What do you see the future of this being?



Leave a Reply

et cetera
