My Yummy Local Life











{January 9, 2010}   Duck Stock

We are not too fond of turkey, so for Christmas dinner we brought a duck to Florida from Jan Campbell at Homestead Harvest Farm.  My husband prepared the duck deliciously, and then we froze the carcass and toted it back to North Carolina with us to make stock.  We use stock in many recipes, so I thought it would be the right recipe to post to begin with.  You can make stock out of any bones you have available (duck, chicken, beef) or without bones at all for vegetable stock.  Unless you are going for a purely vegetarian meal, you can use any stock interchangeably in recipes that call for stock.

So here is how we made the duck stock:

Ingredients:

1 Duck carcass  (Homestead Harvest Farm)

Vegetables (Use any non-starchy vegetables you have on hand in addition to onion, celery and carrot)

1 onion, quartered (from Cane Creek Farm)

2 carrots, quartered

2 celery stalks, quartered

broccoli stems (from Cane Creek Farm)

Seasonings: (Keep it simple)

smoked sea salt, to taste (we usually don’t use too much and add salt to recipes later)

whole black pepper corns (about a tablespoon)

red chili flakes, to taste

Method:

  1. Place bones into a large stock pot.
  2. Roughly chop vegetables and add to the pot. Add seasoning as well.
  3. Fill with enough water to just cover all ingredients.
  4. Bring to a boil, and then reduce heat to a simmer.
  5. After about 5-10 minutes, you will see a foam on the top of the stock.  This is the impurities, and you want to use a spoon to remove as much of the foam as possible.
  6. Continue to let the stock simmer for 4-8 hours.  You will want it to go longer for bones from darker meat, and shorter if it is just vegetables. You want to make sure it continues to simmer, but does not boil.  If it boils, your stock will become cloudy. You know it’s done when the bones break easily.
  7. At this point, turn off the heat, get a large bowl and a colander to strain the stock.
  8. Strain the sock and then place into the refrigerator over night.
  9. The next day, take the stock out of the refrigerator and carefully remove any fat that has solidified on the top.  You can simply discard this, or save it to use for cooking with later.
  10. Now your stock is ready to store.  We save wine bottles that have a screw-cap instead of a cork and keep our stock in there.  It will last in the refrigerator for several weeks.

This time we had 3 bottles of stock plus about 6 cups.  We used the stock that was left to make Mushroom and Barley Soup, a recipe I found on Two Peas and Their Pod’s Blog.  As you will see in her recipe she used vegetable stock, but I simply replaced it with the duck stock since that is what I had this time.

Making your own stock is a great way to prevent waste in your kitchen.  You can use up bones and vegetables that may have otherwise just get thrown away.  Homemade stock is a simple way to move one step closer to a yummy local life!

Marjie says:

The duck was yummy and I bet anything made with the stock will be great too.



I am inspired to make my own stock now. I know I should and can…but never end up actually DOING it.
I’ll let you know if I actually DO and how it comes out.
Kristina



Leslie says:

FedEx delivered my stock pot yesterday. I am looking forward to making stock and other yummy things with it. Thanks for the recipe.



Stewart Thomas says:

After you boil and spoon off the junk, could you transfer everything to a crock pot for the long simmer? I’d love to try this, but don’t know if I want to have my stove on all day like that.



I don’t see why not. I would put it into the crock pot on the lowest setting. I usually make stock on Saturday’s so that I have plenty of time! Definitely don’t want to leave it on when you aren’t home.



Leave a Reply

et cetera
