My Yummy Local Life











{January 10, 2010}   Roasted Broccoli

So I had the afterthought that I didn’t tell you what I did with the broccoli heads (from Cane Creek Farm) when I used the stems in my Duck Stock.  Broccoli is in season now, so it shouldn’t cost too much even if you don’t have a farmer’s marker to go to. Roasted broccoli is one of my favorite snacks and also makes a great side dish, which is how we had it last night.Here’s what you do:

Ingredients:

Broccoli heads (as many as you want, I usually make 1-2 lbs at a time and fill a cookie tray with them)

garlic, fresh, minced

kosher salt

fresh ground black pepper

lemon peel, dried (optional, I just happen to have a ton lying around from last years canning and try to use it; you could also use fresh)

Extra virgin olive oil

Method:

  1. Pre-heat oven to 400 F.
  2. Chop broccoli heads into bit-sized pieces and scatter on a cookie tray.
  3. Stream about 2 tablespoons of extra virgin olive oil over the broccoli.
  4. Sprinkle with garlic, salt, pepper and any other seasonings you want to use.
  5. Place in the middle of the oven, and cook for about 15 minutes, until the edges are starting to brown/crisp.
  6. Remove from oven and enjoy. They are also good cold in salads for a couple of days after you roast them.

Even if you think you don’t like broccoli,  I urge you to try them this way- it just may change your mind. Broccoli is definitely a part of my yummy local life!

Leslie says:

Yum! I’m making stir fry with our broccoli today but will try this soon.



Leslie says:

Also good in an omelet!



Leave a Reply

et cetera
