My Yummy Local Life











{January 16, 2010}   Sweet Potato Pie Cookies

I mentioned in my last post that I had extra pie filling left over.  It was not quite enough to make a second pie, and I did not want it to go to waste.  So I experimented a little and made them into cookies.  They turned out a little more chewy than I would have liked but were overall pretty yummy.

Ingredients:

Leftover sweet potato pie filling

~ 1 cup of flour (I used about 1/4 whole wheat and the rest all-purpose flour)

3/4 cup rolled oats (from Earth Fare‘s bulk section)

3/4 cup chocolate chips, organic (from Earth Fare’s bulk section)

Method:

  1. Pre heat oven to 350 F.
  2. Mix in just enough flour that the dough is not runny.
  3. Fold in oats and chocolate chips.
  4. Use a tablespoon to drop on a cookie sheet lined with parchment.
  5. Bake for about 20 minutes, until the edges are starting to brown.

I don’t like to throw away food unless it is necessary.  This was a good way to use up the extra pie filling, and turned out to be a yummy, filling snack!

Leave a Reply

et cetera
