My Yummy Local Life











{January 19, 2010}   Gnocchi and Battle Wounds
My husband made dinner last night.  He made gnocchi from scratch.  I helped with preparing the sauce that we were going to eat them in.  My job was simple really: make some crispy bacon, cook mushrooms in the fat and then get out of the way. Note to self: Do not toss mushrooms into hot bacon grease; it is still hot, even if the burner is turned off!

This was my kitchen flaw- and now I have grease-burn blisters all along my left forearm to prove it!

This is what the worst of my grease burns looks like!

Gnocchi is a potato based pasta that is very tasty, and a bit messy to make. This is the precise reason that my husband was making it instead of me.  If you feel so inclined sometime- try it out (we make a double batch and freeze some to not go through the hassle more than is necessary).  My husband thinks it is kind of fun; I think it is a hot mess; if you try it let me know what you think!

Gnocchi (double batch):

*vegetarian, if you want it to be vegan, leave out the eggs, but I like eggs and need protein*

Ingredients:

2 lbs russet potatoes (2 large),  organic (from Earth Fare)

salt and pepper, to taste

2 eggs, beaten (from Cane Creek Farms)

~ 2 cups AP flour (King Arthur Flour)

Method:

  1. Boil potatoes whole  in salted water for about 45 minutes, until they are very tender. (I suppose you could cheat and use a microwave, but we don’t have one so I have no idea how long it would take.)
  2. Peel the skin off the potatoes. (my husband used a kitchen towel to do this- messy bit number one!)
  3. Place the potatoes in a bowl and mash with salt and pepper to taste.
  4. Add in 2 eggs (should be about 3 T of egg per potato)
  5. Begin to add flour about 1/2 a cup at a time, until you can work the dough with your hands (it will still be a bit sticky-messy bit number two!).
  6. Divide the dough into about 8 smaller pieces.
  7. Roll each piece into a rope about 1/2 inch thick, and then cut into 1 inch lengths. (Use as much flour as you need)
  8. If you want to freeze some, place them on a lined cookie sheet and put in the freezer overnight, then store in plastic bags or containers.
  9. To use immediately, boil some water with salt and a little oil and carefully place the gnocchi in- they are done when the float to the top of the water.

Gnocchi can be used in pretty much any sauce where you might use pasta.  The sauce that we made last night was a blue cheese sauce.

Blue Cheese sauce for gnocchi (adapted from Sam the Cooking Guy’s recipe)

*Not vegetarian, unless you are me and you think bacon is a vegetable*

Ingredients:

3 strips of bacon (Earth Fare brand)

8 oz mushrooms (bought at Earth Fare, organic from PA)

1 T AP flour (King Arthur Flour)

1 cup whole milk (Earth Fare brand)

1/4 blue cheese, crumbled (from Earth Fare)

Method:

  1. Cook bacon on medium-high heat until crispy.
  2. Remove bacon and drain on paper towels.
  3. Slice mushrooms and gently place into the bacon grease.

    The mushrooms that splattered my arm with bacon grease!

    (Remove me and my burn wounds from the kitchen.)

  4. Saute until brown and then stir in the flour (this will soak up the rest of the grease)- cook for about 1 minute.
  5. Add the milk, and stir quickly to get rid of any lumps. The milk should boil and will thicken.
  6. Add the blue cheese and melt into the sauce.
  7. Crumble the bacon and add back to the sauce.

    This amount of bacon makes A LOT of grease!

  8. Add the cooked gnocchi as soon as they come out of the boiling water.

Even though I got a battle wound from this recipe, I am still not deterred from learning and cooking in my yummy local life!

up&atom says:

Did you not learn anything from “Julie and Julia”? Don’t crowd the mushrooms in your pan! We’re really diggin’ your blog – keep’em coming darlin’! ;o)



Leave a Reply

et cetera
