My Yummy Local Life











{January 21, 2010}   Egg Salad

“Eggs, Eggs, E-double-G-S- eggs!” – Dr Seuss.

I have actually purchased eggs maybe twice in the past 6 months, but nonetheless I have a seemingly endless supply of eggs.  I get two dozen eggs a month as part of my beef CSA from Rare Earth Farms. (I know, cows don’t lay eggs, but they do have chickens as friends).  I also have friends who have more eggs than they can handle, so I obligingly take the eggs off their hands.  If I have less than a dozen eggs in my refrigerator at any given time, I probably am about due for my CSA box again.

Of course eggs are quite versatile, useful in baking and cooking alike, but sometimes, I feel the need to just let them be eggs.  Today I made some egg salad.  My egg salad is all about the eggs, no vegetables and very little of much else.  I think I learned this from my daddy, but it is ingrained in my brain. I had to think very hard while preparing it today to figure out how much of what goes into it!

Egg Salad (2 servings)

*I always make enough for 2 lunches because my husband doesn’t like the smell of boiling eggs*

Ingredients:

3 chicken eggs, local (These are from my CSA from Rare Earth Farms)

Salt and pepper, to taste

~ 2 tsp sugar, raw

~1 tsp vinegar (I usually use rice or apple cider)

1 Tbsp mayonnaise (my off-brand non-hydrogenated stuff in from VA)

1 tsp mustard (I use the coarse grind, but you could use the yellow stuff too)

Method:

  1. Place eggs in a pot of water so that they are just covered; add a pinch of salt and about 1 tsp of vinegar. Bring to a boil.
  2. Keep the water at a slow boil for 10-12 minutes (longer if your eggs have large yolks).
  3. Remove from heat and let cool (I run mine under cold tap water to speed this process).
  4. Crack the eggs and remove their shells.

    Good for compost, not good for tummy.

  5. Place eggs into a bowl and crush with a fork.

    Very good for the tummy!

  6. Add in the rest of the ingredients; stir with a fork and break up any large pieces of egg.
  7. Taste and adjust salt, vinegar and sugar as desired.
  8. Enjoy on toast or english muffins, open-faced or closed!

If you eat eggs at all, this is a great place to start with going local.  Most farmers that have anything at all will also have eggs.  They usually sell for between $3.50-$4.50 a dozen, which is $0.29- $0.37 per egg. I know this is probably more expensive that the eggs in your grocery store, but it is not breaking the bank. Cheaper than a dollar menu breakfast or lunch option! (Or you can find a friend with chickens and off to relieve them of their over-stock for free!).  The yolk in farm fresh eggs is a much darker yellow and more nutritious than the pale yellow of conventional eggs.  Plus, the chickens probably actually know how to (and do) wander freely on their farms.  “Cage-free” eggs come from chickens that are not housed in individual cages, however they are still housed all cooped up, in the dark and may never see the sunshine.  “Pastured” eggs, which is what most small farmers will sell you, come from chickens that wander the green pastures, see sunlight, eat bugs from time to time and have an overall better quality of chicken life. Next time you need eggs, see if you can work some pastured, local eggs into your yummy local life!

jeanine says:

So I like to add a little bit of fresh dried dill weed to my egg salad… you should try it! It adds a little something… 🙂



Leave a Reply

et cetera
