My Yummy Local Life











{February 8, 2010}   Being my own Girl Scout

It’s girl scout cookie season.  I like girl scout cookies.  I thought of buying some from one of my co-workers kids.  But before placing an order, I went to the local Girl Scouts website and investigated the ingredients which were rather difficult to find in the first place (on the cookies page there is a tiniest of links in the bottom right corner that will open the nutritional facts page).  While I was impressed to find that they do not use trans-fats in their cookies anymore, I was disappointed to see that most of the cookies still contained at least some High Fructose Corn Syrup (as well as sugar) as well as many other ingredients that I couldn’t pronounce.  They also do not offer a single allergen free option. In any case, the decision was made- I DO NOT EAT GIRL SCOUT COOKIES! 😦

But I DO LIKE them, so I set out to make my own thin mints.  And not only was I going to recreate this delicious treat with ingredients I can buy and pronounce.  I was also going to make it gluten-free and send some to my mom and my friend Erin.

I believe the google search “homemade girl scout cookies” produced my starting point for me.  The following is what I came up with, although the next batch I make, I am going to try to make gluten and dairy free so that my little buddy Shephard can taste some girl scout cookie yumminess.

Gluten Free Thin Mint Cookies (adapted from baking bites)

Cookie Ingredients:

1 cup rice flour (Bob’s Red Mill Brand)

1 cup sorghum flour (Bob’s Red Mill Brand)

¼ cup tapioca flour

1/8  tsp xanthan gum

1/4 cup cornstarch

6 tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder (fair trade, Equal Exchange)

1/2 tsp kosher salt (David’s Brand)

1 cup white sugar (raw, bulk from Earth Fare)

1/2 cup butter, room temperature

1/3 cup milk (Organic Valley)

1/2 tsp vanilla extract (homemade)

3/4 tsp peppermint extract (organic)

Chocolate Fudge Coating Ingredients:

10-oz dark chocolate chips (organic, bulk from Earth Fare)

1/2 cup butter, room temperature

¼ tsp peppermint extract (organic)

Method:

  1. Mix together the first 7 dry ingredients in a small bowl.
  2. In a different (bigger) bowl, cream together the soft butter and sugar.
  3. Add the milk and both extracts to the creamed butter/sugar mixture.
  4. Slowly add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients.
  5. Divide the dough in half, and shape into two logs (about 1.5 inches in diameter).  Wrap these logs in plastic wrap or wax paper. Place in freezer for about 2 hours.
  6. Pre-heat oven to 375 F.
  7. Remove dough from refrigerator and use a sharp knife to make 1/4 inch slices.
  8. Place close together on a baking sheet (lined with parchment paper for easy removal/cleaning).
  9. Bake for 13-15 minutes.
  10. Cool completely before moving on.
  11. In a double broiler (or microwave I suppose if you own one, which I intentionally do not), melt the fudge toppings together.
  12. Dip each cookie into the fudge on both sides. Place on parchment or wax paper to set.
  13. Allow to set for at least 30 minutes (store in the refrigerator to  keep the coating hard).


I would estimate that this recipe made approximately 3-4 boxes worth of thin mints.  I tested them out of my husband, my friend Casey, my friend Erin (maybe her hubby got one too), my mom and my sister Kat. The consensus: YUMMY! Hip hip hooray! I don’t need ay Girl Scouts this year.  I am my own girl scout this year!



Marjie says:

These cookies are awesome and quite worth hording! Thanks Adele!!!
Love ya tons!



Marjie says:

OK. I only had 6 GS cookies from Adele, so I had to make more. They came out great, tho I needed a bit more milk than she had called for to blend the dough up. This cookie recipe will also make awesome gluten free Oreo type cookies if you leave out the mint, and make a cream filling with powder sugar, Vanilla water or milk and a tiny bit of coconut oil or butter. I tried it with the mint dough and white cream and they were really great too! I make my Oreos open face these days so there are MORE of them.



chanelle says:

What a great idea! I had to help my daughter sell a million boxes (or something like that) this year– but we didn’t even eat one 🙂



Leave a comment

et cetera