My Yummy Local Life











{July 1, 2012}   Pig Pickin’ and This Weeks Menu

Last night we went out to our friends at Cane Creek Farm’s store for a pig picking and some good fun. It is great to have friends that are farmers because they can get you the hook up on fresh fruits and veggies. Bobby is my go-to farmer when I want to get something in bulk for freezing or canning.  This year I plan to hit him up for about 120 lbs of tomatoes for canning and probably about half that many peaches.  I also got my strawberries that I picked from their farm. Bobby and Michael run a great little country store that is filled with locally canned goods, fresh produce and other goodness.

Canned goods at the Cane Creek Farm Store.

 

Farmer Bobby!

Whole pig on the BBQ grill!

Evidently it’s tradition for someone to kiss the pig before everyone starts eating. (Thankfully I wasn’t give that honor this time)

Big crowd despite the 103 heat!

My Plate

Hubby’s Plate

Dessert: winner was definitely the rhubarb crumb cake!

So that was dinner last night and heres the plan for the rest of the week.

Grill day: Grilled avocado with tomato salad and will probably grill Mr. Tilapia too, maybe some grilled tofu too

Einstein says, “This is not a vegetable mom!”

Salad day: kind of a build your own with whatever veggies look good that day: tomatoes, cukes, fruit, nuts…

Goat Cheese Zucchini cakes: Gonna check these out from CSA for 3 that I found at last weeks link up. They look delicious!

Texican Lasagna: So glad I found this post from Texicana’s Kitchen because we were trying to figure out a way to use up the rest of last weeks chili and this looks PERFECT!

Guacamole grilled Cheese: from Two Peas and Their Pod looks like a perfect light summer dinner! This also means I’m going to be making up a batch of sour dough bread on one of these hot days (maybe I can bake it in the sun?)

Cucumber Smoothies: I finally remembered to bring some mint home from the garden so now we can try out Agrigirl’s cucumber idea- sounds like it will be yummy and refreshing for the HOT week ahead.

Berries and peaches will of course mainly be for snacking and helping us stay hydrated in the heat.

Also have some homemade mint oreo ice cream that is going to be very refreshing! (check back later in the week for the blog post with how I did this- it’s dairy free!)

Tammy says:

Thanks so much for the shout out! I hope you enjoy it.



Our chili lasagna turned out excellent last night- we’ll definitely be adding that to our leftover arsenal! Thanks for the tip 🙂



Those goat cheese zucchini cakes do look awesome! Im looking forward to trying them too 🙂 Thanks for linking up!



Leave a Reply

et cetera
