My Yummy Local Life











{July 31, 2012}   Homemade Ginger Beer

Making my second batch of homemade ginger beer soda.  This process takes a total of about 3 weeks for the final product to be ready to drink. Luckily the large majority of this process is very passive.  I used the recipe from Wild Fermentation. For the full recipe check out this book!  So far I have never been steered wrong (or gotten sick) from any of the fermented recipes I have made.

 

The first step is to make a “ginger bug” which involves ginger (obviously), sugar and water.  You keep adding ginger and sugar every day until it starts to have bubbles. Both times I have done this it has only take 2 days to see bubbles (which means you have yeast)

Ginger Bug

Once the ginger bug is ready, it’s time to make the ginger syrup.  It’s about 2 inches of grated ginger, 1.5 cups of sugar and a quart of water.

Ginger syrup

The syrup needs to boil for about 15 minutes and then cool to room temperature.

Boil the ginger syrup

Once everything has cooled, strain the ginger syrup into a large bowl.

Strain ginger syrup

You’ll also need to strain the ginger bug.  You can save a couple table spoons to start the next batch, but it’s so quick and easy that I don’t.

Strain ginger bug

 

To the large bowl add the “juice of two lemons” or in my case i just added a couple tablespoons of lemon juice.  and the ginger  bug, and enough water to bring it up to a gallon in volume.  Since the bug is about 1 cup of liquid I added another 7 cups of water.

Make sure the bottle you are using are sterilized.  We put ours through the dishwasher and then I also poured some boiling water into them right before filling to be sure.

Use a funnel to fill the bottles.

Filling the bottles

Once the bottles are filled, seal them and then label them with the date two weeks from that day.  They need to “age” on the conter for at least 2 weeks before the yeast have gotten to do their thing.

4 bottles of ginger beer getting their age on.

Once they have aged, refrigerate and then enjoy (and open them over the sink!)

yummy! Thanks for sharing 🙂 MIght have to give this a try one day…



Still sugary soda…but at least I know exactly what is in it. Everything in moderation… right?!



That’s always been my motto. Plus, it’s homemade…doesn’t get any better than that!



Tammy says:

I really didn’t know that you can cultivate your own ginger bug! I make water kefir with grains and I thought I’d have to d something very similar for ginger beer. Definitely will be trying this – thanks.



Leave a Reply

et cetera
