My Yummy Local Life











{August 4, 2012}   8/4 Farmer’s Market

I went to the farmer’s market today with a list… and I successfully got all but one thing that was on said list.  That all by itself is pretty impressive to me.  Everyone had figs so I got some of those as my fruit for the week.  I went to the Chapel Hill market again because I liked their peaches better than the ones from the Carrboro market and wanted to pick up a box of them.  I’m teaching my co-worker Bridget how to can tomorrow. Don’t worry there will be many pictures!

So here’s what I got:

Farmer’s market fare!

Arugula, big tomatoes, bell peppers: $8

Herbed Goat Cheese, Raw Cow’s milk Gouda: $9

Zucchini, Squash and Figs: $6.15

Eggs: $4

Grand Total: $27.15 (Less than $30 means I’m right on budget!)

 

And here’s a sneak peak at the peaches ($20) but they will get their own post in a week or so:

Peaches!

Excited for my menu this week, so come check it out tomorrow. I’ve been finding many tasty things from the people I’ve started following at the link party. Go check it out!

What did you get at the farmer’s market this week??

 

I have never had figs before…Looking forward to seeing what you plan to do with them.

Thanks for linking up!



This week the figs are probably going to be for snacking. I sliced a few up and added them l my quesadilla today for lunch. I have use them to make homemade fig newton bars in the past. But I like them the best with blue cheese, walnuts and honey on toast.



Sounds good 🙂



Leave a Reply

et cetera
