My Yummy Local Life











{August 19, 2012}   Yummy menu for this week

This week I will be on my own for a few days again while the hubby works.  But since we knew ahead of time, planning the menu is better.  Last night I worked, so he had dinner with our lovely friend Amanda and her roommate (they just moved into our neighborhood).  They had lamb burgers with goat cheese and shishito peppers.  I’m a little jealous of that…

A yummy snack: toast with cheese (blue or cherve would be my suggestion), halved figs, walnuts (press one onto each fig); toast; drizzle with honey to finish. Enjoy the yumminess!

Tonight we’re going to make up the rest of the shishito peppers and a salad of some sort. (If you’ve never watched an episode of The Sam Livecast check out the link for the peppers…)

Other things on the menu are:

Ratatoullie– a hodge-podge of roasted veggies (italian type seasonings)

Stir Fry- mixed veggies and rice (asian sauce/seasoning)

Pizza- homemade dough with eggplant and cherry tomatoes

Yogurt Curry Okra (love this simple recipe from Indian in 6)

 

I’m also having dinner with my friend Stephanie on Wednesday night so YAY! one night I don’t have to cook!

 

Also I made some bagels (so that I have something to use the delicious honey fig cherve on).  The recipe asked for them to be “retarded” in the refrigerator overnight.  So I did half that way and half I boiled yesterday right after they rose.  They look a litte different (the retarded ones are smoother) but they both taste delicious.

Bagels boiled right away.

 

Bagels boiled after being retarded in the refrigerator over night.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

It’s going to be another yummy week!

PS: Found out that my ducks are 4 male and 4 female.  That means 4 layers, 3 meat ducks and 1 very luck male duck!

 

Bagels and bread toped with cheese and figs? I’m officially drooling 🙂

Thanks for linking up! Always enjoy having you at the party…



Leave a Reply

et cetera
