My Yummy Local Life











{October 6, 2012}   Fall is in full swing at the market- 10/6

LOTS of green going on this week.  I am still having headaches when I eat stuff with a lot of onion in it, but have found that peppers can at least give some flavor and crunch to a recipe that is supposed to have more onions.  The Ladies of LOVE Chapel Hill are having a “crock pot prep day” today and I am excited about trying out some new recipes.  I am making this vegetarian recipe: Squash, Chickpea and Red Lentil Stew– got all the ingredients for 16 servings worth for $20- at Whole Foods.  Eating healthy doesn’t have to break the bank.

Here’s what I got at the market today:

Fall finds 10/9

Costa Rican Coffee: $9

Hot pimento goat cheese and Luntias (brie like cheese)- $9 (SO missed my cheese fix when I didn’t go to the market last week- next week I’m getting pumpkin spice goat cheese and jalapeno queso fresco- love my cheese guy!)

Huge bunch of beautiful KALE and a bag of Tatsoi- $6 (KALE CHIPS!!)

Shishito peppers- $2.50 (Price is dropping- they must be on their way out- hubby will be sad)

Mix bag of bell peppers- $6

Grand total: $32.50

Also over the course of the last week and a half I have gotten 2 dozen duck eggs.  The layers are doing so good so far- averaging 2 eggs per day.  Eggs in everything! Keep up the good work little ducks!

That’s about $10 worth of eggs!

Have a yummy week- and if you need inspiration, check out In Her Chucks’ link party for more yummy ideas.

That HUGE bunch of kale will make for a nice batch of chips 🙂

Thanks for sharing and linking up!



Leave a Reply

et cetera
