My Yummy Local Life











{March 4, 2013}   52 weeks of Bread: Weeks 6-8

I’m trying to make a different bread every week of the year.  So far this is what I’ve got:

Week 1: Challah bread

Week 2: English Muffins

Week 3: Oatmeal Rolls

Week 4: Harvest Grape Bread (pull apart rolls)

Week 5: Potato Rosemary Bread

Alright, so in 3 weeks I have made 5 breads (of sorts) but two were for snacking so they didn’t really go with any meals or anything like that.

Week 6: Casatiello bread

20130228-161138.jpg

This bread is our all time favorite from the Bread Baker’s Apprentice book.* The hubby calls it “meat bread”. It can seriously be a meal by itself…if it’s not a disaster like it was this time around. This loaf went through THREE rises instead of two, since Einstein decided to eat some of the raw dough on the first two rises. He was VERY sick for it** and the bread turned out about 1/3 the height it usually does.

Week 6 bonus: King Cake

20130228-161549.jpg

This was my first time making my own king cake for Mardi Gras. I didn’t know it was leavened. It turned out pretty tasty. I think I’ll try a recipe with cinnamon or some other filling inside next year.

Week 7: Focaccia Bread

20130228-161831.jpg

This was only my second time making fococcia and it was delicious. I tried out a few toppings on it this time too, which was an excellent idea. (Stuffed Olives, mozzarella cheese and local AZ pecans)

Week 8: Italian Bread

20130228-163001.jpg

I needed some Italian bread for this recipe, so I went ahead an made a whole batch (normally 2 big loaves) so we would have some with dinner too.

Week 8 bonus: Plain soft pretzels/bites

20130228-163425.jpg

20130228-163451.jpg

We needed a snack. These were perfect. I used half whole wheat flour and half plain.

* Unless otherwise noted/linked up, all of my bread recipes come from the Bread Baker’s Apprentice Book, which I would highly recommend.

** NOTE: Raw dough with yeast is extremely dangerous to dogs; the yeast continues to ferment in the warmth of the stomach- this can cause bloating, obstruction, diarrhea, and even alcohol poisoning   If your dog gets into some dough, try to get him to throw it up. We could’t, so we kept a close eye on Einstein for 2 days and fed him pureed cooked pumpkin to soak up the yuckiness in his tummy.  He is feeling good now, but not so keen to ‘help’ bake as he used to be.

20130228-170225.jpg

Leave a Reply

et cetera
