My Yummy Local Life











{March 8, 2013}   Yum Yum Produce Box #1

I got my first Community Supported Agriculture (CSA) box this week! So far I am incredibly pleased. Here’s what the box contents looked like:

20130307-181202.jpg

This is what all we got:

1 bag of micro greens (I think they are sunflower seed sprouts)
1 bunch of Swiss chard
1 bunch of fennel
1 bunch of kale
1 bunch of collard greens
1 bunch of broccolini
1 bunch of carrots with tops
1 bag of oyster and shiitake mushrooms

I am excited that we know how to use almost everything that we got in our first box. Hubby is going to try to get me to like collard greens.

I was very excited about the mushrooms, and the promise that there are more to come. I could eat mushrooms every day.

We are going to try out a recipe for carrot top pesto that I found. Might as well use everything if we can, right? Have you ever used your carrot tops before? If so- what did you think?

We already used up about half of the sprouts. We had them on top of our vegetarian bean soup tonight. (It was vegan until we decide it would also be good with cheddar cheese on top-oh well)

The carrots are going to be my vessel for eating hummus this week, and the kale will probably get made into chips for snacking.

I think we’ll use the mushrooms (and the pesto) for a pizza.

There is sweet potato quesadillas, stir fry and Stromboli on the menu this week to which will all incorporate a few veggies.

My box came from Yum Yum Produce. If you live in the Verde Valley area you should check them out 🙂

I’m linking up with In Her Chucks. Check out the other veggie boxes people got this week.

Have a yummy local week!

[…] out with one bunch of kale (any variety). These are the beauties I got in my Yum Yum Produce box last […]



Yay! So glad you decided to take the plunge 🙂 Sounds like you have a lovely menu planned for this week. Thanks for sharing and linking up!



Glad to be back! We have missed our constant stream of veggies. I think it will take us a few weeks to get back into the groove of using them all before the next ones come 🙂



I know how you feel…but before you know it you will be using up your veggies within a few days 🙂



[…] welcome some of my most loyal participants back to the party.  Shout out to AnnieRe Unplugged and My Yummy Local Life.  Can’t wait to see what you have in store for all that delicious CSA produce 🙂  Thanks to […]



Leave a Reply

et cetera
