My Yummy Local Life











{March 22, 2013}   Yum Yum Produce Box #3

Week 3 is here (already!). I got a little backed up so I spent today making veggie chips (chard and radish) and a new batch of carrot top pesto, so I could have space for the new box contents. Well here’s what we got this week:

20130321-202713.jpg

1 bunch of HUGE carrots
1 bunch of mustard greens
1 bunch of collar greens
1 bunch of radishes
1 bunch of turnips
1 bag of spinach leaves
1 small bag of sprouts
4 sweet potatoes

I invented some carrot cake waffles today. I’ll try to get pictures and post them on a future post. Hubby even like them (hidden carrots!!). Thanks to In Her Chucks for suggesting carrot cake (I’ll probably be making some regular cake/cupcakes soon too). Do you think I can freeze shredded carrot-like you would shredded zucchini/squash?

I don’t have an excellent plan in mind quite yet for this week. We really liked the radishes cooked in stir fry last week, so we may do another one this week. We thought they tasted a bit like water chestnuts once they were cooked.

I have a feeling that most of the sprouts and spinach will go for lunches as part of salads or wraps. It’s warm enough to want a cool lunch instead of something hot all the time.

So I did try to collard leaves as a wrap and also in a green smoothie. I didn’t love them as a wrap, but it was kind of an off day so I might try them again this way sometime. I DID like the green smoothie, and made the leftover into popsicles for snacking. I will definitely be drinking more greens.

Does anyone have a favorite collard recipe? I just find them very bitter every way I’ve had them so far except when masked with fruit.

Mustard greens…here’s another one I’m not sure I like. I haven’t hit up the Internet for ideas yet, but hopefully I can find a way to like them.

Not sure what we’ll make with the turnips this week yet. We still haven’t made the turnip sweet potato gratin from last week as I’m writing this, so they might just get added into there.

SWEET POTATOES! Basically one of my all time favorite foods. I let out a little squeal when I saw them hiding in the bottom of my box. True story. I don’t really care what happens to them as long as they get into my belly- we have some javelina chorizo sausage still so we might make up some sweet potato chorizo casserole. It’s one of our go to recipes from the Almost Meatless cookbook.

Thanks to Yum Yum for another great box!

Check out the other CSA yumminess at In Her Chucks link party.

Leslie says:

Can you post your smoothie recipe? Did you just put it all in the blender or did you juice it first? I think collards are supposed to be cooked and sprinkled with either vinegar or hot sauce. I’ve never had them any other way 🙂



I’ve been eating them raw all week in the smoothies with no ill effects (aside from knowing I’m voluntarily consuming collards) The recipe is in one of the links to last weeks box, but here it is again: http://www.realsimple.com/food-recipes/browse-all-recipes/collard-greens-smoothie-00100000095094/index.html I’ve been using coconut water and/or almond milk instead of plain water to give it a bit more flavor.



Also- if you just chuck everything in the blender its ok, but try to put the frozen stuff on the bottom and the leafy stuff on top, it blends easier that way!



Leave a Reply

et cetera
