My Yummy Local Life











{April 7, 2013}   52 Weeks of bread: weeks 9-13

I’m trying to make a different bread every week of the year. So far this is what I’ve got:

Week 1: Challah bread

Week 2: English Muffins

Week 3:Oatmeal Rolls

Week 4: Harvest Grape Bread (pull apart rolls)

Week 5: Potato Rosemary Bread

Week 6: Casatiello bread

Week 6 bonus: King Cake

Week 7: Focaccia Bread

Week 8: Italian Bread

Week 8 bonus: Plain soft pretzels/bites

Week 9: Pitas (x2)

20130402-100942.jpg

We made two batches of pita bread to have for snacks with hummus when we were hiking and visiting the Grand Canyon with our friends who were here on spring break. The best part of pita bread is it only takes a couple hours start to finish.

I use the whole wheat version of pitas from Mark Bittman’s book How to Cook Everything.

Week 10: Pizza/Stromboli

20130402-101213.jpg

20130402-101231.jpg

Okay- we actually make this ALL the time. The pizza dough we make is perfect for pizza, bread sticks, calzones and Stromboli. I think Stromboli is our new favorite.

3 cups of white flour, 2 tsp yeast, 2 tsp salt, 2 T EVOO, approximately 1 cup of water. Mix, let rise for at least one hour. Makes enough for 2 large or three small pizzas, 6 calzones, 2 large Stromboli. It also freezes and defrosts very nicely 🙂

Week 11: Irish soda bread

20130402-101830.jpg

It was St. Patrick’s Day so of course we had to make some soda bread. The recipe I used this time around was from Ina Garten, but I added caraway seeds to it.

Week 12: Bread bowls

20130402-102104.jpg

20130402-102118.jpg

I needed a fix of broccoli cheddar soup in a bread bowl, so I decided to make my own. I only made a half recipe so we wouldn’t be drowning in bread bowls.

Week 13: Made with Love Bakery’s Hawaiian Sweet Bread

20130402-102428.jpg

This is the bread that my church in NC, Love Chapel Hill, uses for communion. I made it for Easter to bring to my new church in AZ’s bread and fish breakfast. The old meets the new 🙂 This recipe is not mine to share but Made with Love will be up and running in Chapel Hill this summer.

Week 13 bonus Bacon Epi(c) Bread

We had a bacon feast and I was in charge of making the bread. These beauties have a slice of bacon inside. Epi is the shape, but I would say they are also epic!

20130402-102659.jpg

* Unless otherwise noted/linked up, all of my bread recipes come from the Bread Baker’s Apprentice Book, which I would highly recommend.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
