My Yummy Local Life











{April 10, 2013}   Carrot cake waffles

Remember all those carrots we froze. Well I decide it would be a good idea to make some carrot cake waffles to use a few of them up. I have been making waffles and freezing them for my breakfast food for a while but this is the first time I have invented a waffle recipe of my own.

Carrot Cake Waffles
Recipe adapted from Alton Brown’s plain waffles (which are also good for freezing)

1c whole wheat flour
1c white flour
1/2 tsp baking soda
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp salt
3 Tbps brown sugar
1tsp pumpkin pie spice (can substitute 1/2tsp each of cinnamon and nutmeg)
1 large carrot shredded (1-1.5c)
3 eggs
4 Tbsp butter melted (or half butter, half EVOO)
16 oz “buttermilk” (I never buy this stuff, just combine a little lemon or lime and some milk- cows or alternate will do fine)
1 tsp vanilla

Step 1: Combine flours, baking soda, baking powder, salt, brown sugar, and spices in a medium bowl.

20130409-100203.jpg

Step 2: Add the carrots to the dry mixture and coat.

Step 3: Combine the wet ingredients, then add them to the dry ingredients. Stir until just combined.

20130409-100333.jpg

Step 4: Preheat your waffle iron. Let the mixture sit while it heats. Once iron is hot, scoop the mixture onto the waffle iron and cool per your irons instructions.

20130409-100528.jpg

20130409-100543.jpg

20130409-100554.jpg

This recipe usually makes about 8-12 waffles for me. I typically use a half cup size to scoop each batch of batter onto my waffle iron.

To freeze the waffles, let them come to room temperature and then lay them in a single layer on a cookie sheet. Place in your freezer for 3 hours (or overnight). Once they are frozen you can store them in a zip top bag. To reheat just stick them in the toaster.

These carrot cake waffles are good with either powered sugar or peanut butter on them 🙂 Enjoy!

This post is linked up on frugally sustainable’s blog hop.

100milekitchen says:

Love this! I needed some new ideas for carrots and I have a waffle maker. Yay!



It’s my first time inventing a waffle recipe. Let me know if you like them 🙂



Lauren says:

Love this use of carrots! I see some carrot cake waffles in our future…



Awesome. Let me know what you think!



Looks like I’m heading over to your house for breakfast 🙂 Yum!!!

Thanks for sharing and linking up



[…] to my breakfast.  I mean, let’s be honest, who doesn’t want to enjoy a plate full of Carrot Cake Waffles and Egg White Puffs to start your day off on the right foot.  Makes me want to hurry to bed so I […]



Leave a Reply

et cetera
