My Yummy Local Life











{June 14, 2013}   52 Weeks of Bread- weeks 19-22

I’m trying to make a different bread every week of the year. So far this is what I’ve got:

Week 1: Challah bread

Week 2: English Muffins

Week 3:Oatmeal Rolls

Week 4: Harvest Grape Bread (pull apart rolls)

Week 5: Potato Rosemary Bread

Week 6: Casatiello bread

Week 6 bonus: King Cake

Week 7: Focaccia Bread

Week 8: Italian Bread

Week 8 bonus: Plain soft pretzels/bites

Week 9: Pitas (x2)

Week 10: Pizza/Stromboli

Week 11: Irish soda bread

Week 12: Bread bowls

Week 13: Made with Love Bakery’s Hawaiian Sweet Bread

Week 13 bonus Bacon Epi(c) Bread

Week 14: Southern Biscuits

Week 15: Corn Bread with bacon

Week 16: Marbled Rye Bread

Week 17: Cilantro sesame rolls

Week 18: Garlic Scape, Pepper, cheddar bread

Week 19: Flour tortillas
20130613-164625.jpg

These were super easy and very tasty. A little finicky- we made the second batch way too crispy. I would make these all the time except there are some great locally made ones for sale at the stores here.

Week 20: Vienna Bread

20130613-164833.jpg

These rolls were really tasty! I will be making them again sometime. We used them for dinner rolls and sandwiches all week.

Week 21: Tuscan bread

20130613-165230.jpg

Not my favorite bread. On a positive note- it took 21 weeks to get to one I didn’t like. This bread has no salt in the recipe and it was sorely missed. It also molded very quickly 😦

Week 21 Bonuses: MORE pita bread and some carrot zucchini ginger bread for breakfasts

20130613-170434.jpg

Week 22: White bread variation 1

20130613-165640.jpg

20130613-165651.jpg

I signed up to bring a couple of loaves of bread to the youth group for their week of service projects around town. I figured it was a perfect time to try out a white bread. I made a double batch and made some into hamburger/hotdog rolls too. Not so right on the shape for the hotdogs but pretty close on taste.

23. Bagels

20130613-165859.jpg

I wanted some easy go this for breakfast and lunch. As I had already made English muffins and I trying to avoid major repeats, I went with bagels. This was a good idea.

* Unless otherwise noted/linked up, all of my bread recipes come from the Bread Baker’s Apprentice Book, which I would highly recommend.

Tammy says:

That’s amazing! I’ve never been much of a baker but I’m impressed with your efforts. Have you heard of Hopi piki bread?



I have not- except I just googled it and got the general idea ; Do you know of anywhere that I could get some to try before attempting it myself??



Tammy says:

They have it as an appetizer in the Turquoise Room at the La Posada in Winslow.



OH neat- hubby is probably in for a day trip to winslow some time 🙂



Leave a Reply

et cetera
