My Yummy Local Life











{July 18, 2013}   Yum Yum Produce Box # 13

My box is back and I am so happy! Look at this lovely summer bounty:

20130718-160511.jpg

Oodles of various heirloom tomatoes
A bunch of okra
4 onions
A bag of basil
A bunch of purslane
Several “very sweet” potatoes

So many delicious ideas for this and I’ve only had it in my possession for a couple of hours.

We are grilling eggplant tonight and using some of the tomatoes for a fresh grilled eggplant Parmesan mock up. Also going to add in some basil. (Sam the Cooking Guy idea)

I am hoping to get some sausage at the farmers market tonight and we will make a tomato sausage bake. (Jamie Oliver style)

We have some salmon in the freezer so we are thinking of making it up with some okra fries (recipe in our yum yum box newsletter) with some homemade curry ketchup for dipping.

There is also a possibility of getting some flat steaks at the farmers market to use for grilling and making some fajitas.

I haven’t decided about the sweet potatoes yet, but they will keep and I will be out of town for part of the week.

Purslane is supposed to be good for salads- so we are hoping to use it along with some lettuce greens I have left from the farmers market last week.

Any brilliant ideas for whatever tomatoes I might have left or the sweet potatoes? Do you live near me and want some basil? I have a ton growing as well as what came in the box!

Have a yummy week!

I have okra envy at the moment…I wish okra was a local crop in my neck of the woods 😦

Thanks for sharing and linking up!

As for tomatoes, I always like to make homemade sauce.

For the sweet tomatoes I would make this…http://www.skinnytaste.com/2012/11/sweet-potato-turkey-shepards-pie.html.

Hope it all turns out well 🙂



Leave a Reply

et cetera
