My Yummy Local Life











{August 4, 2013}   Yum yum produce box #15

In the book Animal Vegetable Miracle, the younger daughter puts “fresh fruit?” on the farmers market shopping list. That is me too. Any and all fruit and I am excited. So imagine my happy face when I saw this week’s box contents:

20130804-090116.jpg

4 large freestone peaches!!
3 apples!!
2 plums!!
2 red onions
2 crookneck squash
1 zucchini squash
1 bag basil
1 yellow onion
1 bag of sunflower sprouts
1 bunch of rainbow chard
1 bunch of kale

We’ve got a frittata on the menu to use some of the squash. We made this delicious pizza with one of the red onions. There are some salads in our future as well as some pesto pasta to use up some of the greens. But as for the fruit, I just want it in my belly. No other plans are necessary.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
