My Yummy Local Life











{August 10, 2013}   Yum Yum Produce Box # 16

It was another great haul from our CSA box this week:

20130810-201444.jpg

1 bunch of arugula
1 bunch of chard
1 bunch kale
1 bag sprouts
3 crook neck squashes
3 peaches
3 apples
4 red onions
LOTS of cherry tomatoes

Yay fresh fruit!!! Oh and speaking of fresh fruit, my husband gleaned a peach tree out at the farm he works at this week and came home my hero:

20130810-201934.jpg

My original plan (in addition to the peach crisp that I made), was to freeze most of these peaches, but our freezer is on the fritz and the land lord is ordering a part, so we also made some peach jam:

20130810-202053.jpg

I think we will also be able to make some peach pocket pies to put in he freezer. Fresh fruit for the win!

The menu for the week…was invented by the hubby- so I don’t really know what it involves, but I do know we are making this squash frittata (again) because it’s an excellent way to use up a bunch of squash.
Right now I am supervising the boys making a batch of pickled vegetables from our friends garden.

20130810-202303.jpg

20130810-202352.jpg

I am retired from making pickles because I think they never get eaten, but I am supervising to make sure they don’t give themselves botchalism 🙂

Have a yummy week. And check out the rest of the lovely summer boxes over at In Her Chucks link up.

wow! peaches for days…he would most definitely be my hero too 🙂

thanks for sharing and linking up!



Leave a Reply

et cetera
