My Yummy Local Life











{August 15, 2013}   Yum Yum Produce Box #17

Cannot believe that this is box five out of our eight week cycle! It feels like it just started. Here’s what we got in our box this week:

20130815-200005.jpg

1 bag of sunflower sprouts
1 bunch kale
1 bunch chard
1 eggplant
2 sweet onions
2 bulbs of garlic
2 lemon cucumbers
4 cucumbers
Many cherry tomatoes

We plan on using the eggplant ad some tomatoes for a ratatouille type pasta. I getting fresh milk on Monday so I will make some cheese and we will have fresh pizza. Also planning a stir fry to try to use up some sprouts. Got to use some greens for something. Hubby things maybe in some Mac and cheese. That will only make a dent (as we forgot to put the greens in the frittata we planned to use them in last week).

I will have you notice that there was no (sweet) fruit in my box, but never fear:

20130815-200503.jpg

(Ugly, sweet) nectarines that I picked thanks to Lindsey…and also a few bunches of grapes. So thankfully I am set on fruit again for a little while. It would be awesome if my freezer was fixed and I could freeze it in bigger batches.

Check out the other CSA blogs this week at In Her Chucks.

Have a yummy week!

First of all, I can’t seem to get enough kale this summer. Secondly, ugly or not, a nectarine is always a score in my book đŸ™‚

Thanks for sharing and linking up!



Leave a Reply

et cetera
