My Yummy Local Life











{September 1, 2013}   Yum Yum Produce Box #18 & #19

Clearly I am a slacker, as I came to post about this week’s box only to realize that I did not tell you about last week’s box. So I guess you’re in for a treat since they were both beautiful.

Here is box 18:

20130901-164609.jpg

Cherry tomatoes
Medium tomatoes
Giant Hopi squash
Giant Armenian cucumber
Sprouts (of course)
Apples
Peaches

So much delicious and fresh food! I still haven’t used the Hopi squash. It’s in the plans for this week’s menu though.

And here is box 19:

20130901-164845.jpg

Cherry tomatoes
Apples
Red onions
Sprouts ( 🙂 )
Chili peppers
Kale
White eggplant
Butternut squash

Again- quite the bounty. I am cooking for myself a lot so the menu tends to change more than when hubby is home to cook. We are planning on some pasta dishes, some risotto, some pizza (with homemade raw milk mozzarella)…basically a lot of comfort foods. I shall leave you with this quote from the book I’m reading:

“We practice hospitality, creating soft and safe places for people to connect and rest.”- Bread & Wine by Shauna Niequist

Leave a Reply

et cetera
