My Yummy Local Life











{September 29, 2013}   52 weeks of Bread- 33-38

I’m trying to make a different bread every week of the year. So far this is what I’ve got:

Week 1: Challah bread

Week 2: English Muffins

Week 3:Oatmeal Rolls

Week 4: Harvest Grape Bread (pull apart rolls)

Week 5: Potato Rosemary Bread

Week 6: Casatiello bread

Week 6 bonus: King Cake

Week 7: Focaccia Bread

Week 8: Italian Bread

Week 8 bonus: Plain soft pretzels/bites

Week 9: Pitas (x2)

Week 10: Pizza/Stromboli

Week 11: Irish soda bread

Week 12: Bread bowls

Week 13: Made with Love Bakery’s Hawaiian Sweet Bread

Week 13 bonus Bacon Epi(c) Bread

Week 14: Southern Biscuits

Week 15: Corn Bread with bacon

Week 16: Marbled Rye Bread

Week 17: Cilantro sesame rolls

Week 18: Garlic Scape, Pepper, cheddar bread

Week 19: Flour tortillas

Week 20: Vienna Bread

Week 21: Tuscan bread

Week 21 Bonuses: MORE pita bread and some carrot zucchini ginger bread for breakfasts

Week 22: White bread variation 1

Week 23: Bagels

Week 24: French bread

Week 25: Pizza pretzel bites

Week 26: Orion Bread Company– day old breads for $1/$2!!

Week 27: Honey Yogurt Waffles

Week 28: Naan Bread

Week 29: Paleo/Gluten Free naan bread (or not-naan bread batch three)
Week 30: 100% whole wheat bread

Week 31: Crescent rolls

Week 32: Stollen

Week 32 bonus: Healthier biscuits

Week 33: Kaiser Rolls (Vegan)

20130929-091549.jpg

So I went to make these rolls and have them about halfway made and realize I just used the last eggs to make egg biscuits using up the bread and eggs from last week. So I just used a ground flax seed substitute and the rolls came out just fine, and incidentally they also became vegan.

Week 34: Pane Siciliano

20130929-091422.jpg

Since part of my goal is to have no repeats of my breads, it’s getting challenging to not repeat when all
I really want is a baguette of French or Italian bread. These were shaped differently and had a very different procedure but still gave me what I was going for- and they are very pretty too.

Week 35: Lavash crackers (100% whole wheat)

20130929-091209.jpg

This week I just needed a vessel for some avocado so I made some crackers. The recipe calls for white flour, but I used whole wheat instead. They are good crackers either way- but I have had problems getting the seeds to stick- might mix them in next time.

Week 36: I am a slacker and did not make bread this week…I also didn’t need any bread for anything on the menu this week and it was only me at home.

Week 37: Pan à L’ancienne

20130929-091022.jpg

Again with the need for a simple baguette to bring with cheese for dinner. These were amazing! Airy and simplistic to make. I will be making these again.

Week 38: Casatiello bread (take two)

20130929-090907.jpg

Alright, so I broke my no reruns rule with this one. If you will recall way back in week 6, I made this bread, but it was too cold for it to rise properly. I’m my attempt to put it close enough to the warmth to get it to rise, our dog Einstein ate about half of the raw dough. He was very sick and the bread was very little, so I gave us a redo on this one. Turned out much better this time around!

Week 38 bonus: Pumpkin cinnamon pull apart bread

20130929-090720.jpg

Fall has arrived, and with it pumpkins which, in case you didn’t know, are for eating not carving. The first pumpkin this year yielded about 12 cups of pumpkin purée for me. There will be many pumpkin-y breads to come in the next few weeks as well. This particular one was very yummy and very fast to make (I did use about double the amount of flour as the recipe though).

* Unless otherwise noted/linked up, all of my bread recipes come from the Bread Baker’s Apprentice Book, which I would highly recommend.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
